jump to navigation

Going round again May 5, 2011

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Craftiness, Knitting, University.
trackback

It’s that time of year.

I seem to be alternating between being unable to sleep for more than three hours at a stretch, and being out like a light for twelve hours straight.  I’m also alternating between subsisting on cous cous and vegetables, and pigging out on bowlfuls of angel delight and bars of Dairy Milk.  My mood is swinging about the place too: one minute, I’m feeling like I have to be alone, and the next, I feel very lonely indeed.  That last is probably kind of related to the first two.  I keep telling myself: this too shall pass.

I don’t really want it to pass, either.

I cast on a sock this afternoon:

The yarn is Juno Fibre Arts Buffy Sock, and the colour is called ‘Seaspray’.  This is pretty accurate, but you can’t see the hints of green particularly well.  It’s such a subtle colour, I had such fun just winding it.

Unlike my usual plain exam sock – I have a pair of toe-up stocking stitch socks for every exam period for about the last three years – this one’s going to be patterned.  I felt like it.  It’s going to be Wendy Johnson’s Catnip socks which are everything I like: toe-up, easily customisable, lacy, with a simple repeat so I don’t have to carry the pattern round with me all the time.  I’m looking forward to them.

I’ve finished a pair of socks, too, in the last day or so – I’ll try and get pictures of them soon, they’re rather lovely.  Again, simple lace.  It’s amazing how comforting it can be sometimes.

It’s all hot and cold hereabouts.  I hardly know what to do with myself.

Captain Shakespeare and I went to see Bellowhead play last week.  They were phenomenal.  Quite possibly the best live act I’ve ever seen – the collective energy was amazing, they can work a crowd like nobody’s business but you just got the impression that they were enjoying themselves and just messing about.  There was spontaneous bursting into jigs, dramatic lunging with a banjo, and trying to make one of the violinists laugh from across the stage while he was doing a solo – as well as at several points the stealing of Jon Boden’s tambourine, whistle, tiny-drum-slash-wind-noise-thing and misc other small percussion instruments.

I’m sure I’ve said before that some musicians have a song that just resonates with me, that I adore above and beyond anything else they’ve done.  Interestingly, that song of Bellowhead’s is one that is very traditional and arranged by a lot of different people.  It’s also the first thing I ever heard them play, and it’s fantastic.  Therefore I’m foisting it on you.  Imagine a theatre full of people bawling their heads off at the words and clapping and stomping along.  What an atmosphere.

It’s never all bad.

Comments»

1. Roobeedoo - May 5, 2011

Sounds like a balanced diet to me! 😉
Blah – it’s that season isn’t it? Knitting is the only way I ever got through my exams. I will have to come back to see your socks my internet is playing up. But they sound great!

2. Lucy - May 5, 2011

I LOVE that video! And that song in general, but particularly that version of it. I can only imagine what it must have been like live…!

Keep gritting your teeth and plowing through. I have faith in you, Fi 🙂

3. Jenny - May 6, 2011

My phone is silly and wont tell me anything about that video so please tell me – that is their Towersey gig last year, that video, isn’t it? I was there! It was amazing! I danced so much I forgot to stop and drink and passed out at the end…! That is how good it was.

Fiona - May 6, 2011

No, it was Shrewsbury apparently. They’re going to be at Larmer Tree this year. I shall be dragging his nibs along, not that I think there’ll be much protest. Soooo much fun.

4. Flix - May 6, 2011

That Time Of Year Feeling. Much ughness.

Keep Swimming. And high fives for live music.

🙂


Leave a Reply

