jump to navigation

Inspiration February 8, 2011

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Craftiness, Durham, Knitting, University.
trackback

Sometimes it hits you without warning.  Last Thursday, I wound a ball of Malabrigo Lace, thinking it’d be really nice to just play with it for a bit.  I was picturing a long, kind of skinny scarf, with a repeating lace pattern down it.  Something that says yes, it’s still a bit chilly, but it’s spring dammit and I’m going to act like it.  I browsed a bit, and swatched a few things and found nothing I like.

On Friday, I had my eureka! moment.  Here is my eureka! moment, posing ultra-picturesquely with my notes for an essay on European citizenship and the free movement of workers in the European Union:

Mmm, Regulation 1612/68.  So much better for the application of Malabrigo.  It’s glorious, by the way, although it’s also basically felting as I knit it.  Sometimes inspiration hits you square between the eyes, and I have to say I’m really loving this project right now.  I’ve provisionally christened it ‘Winwhistle’, after a place I was thinking about a lot at the time.

The next few weeks are going to be full of people, and places, and events.  After a sluggish few weeks, I’m really looking forward to them.  I’ve been pretty consistently down in the dumps since the beginning of term, and I’m hoping the application of friends and getting out a bit more will help things turn up a bit.  You may or may not be aware (well, you are now) that Linguistic Housemate was in Egypt for the last few months – fear not, she’s now on our living room floor as we speak and it’s been the greatest relief, and the greatest breath of fresh air, to see her again.  Also his nibs is going to be coming to see me next week so there shall be a selection of my favourite people congregating at Techie Towers.

Oh, and I ran two miles this afternoon.  It definitely feels like the spring is coming.  This is my favourite time of year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

