jump to navigation

It’s official November 19, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Craftiness, Durham, Knitting, Sheer bloody-mindedness.
trackback

I went into a shop on Wednesday and they were playing standard Christmas music.  I can’t pretend it’s not happening any more, and that can only mean one thing: Christmas knitting.  Oh yes.  There’s a lot of it: I have mittens planned, and a hat, and more socks than you can shake a stick at.  And possibly a scarf but it’s looking more and more like that one might be finished by Easter.  Either way, I will almost certainly still be knitting at 11pm on Christmas Eve.  (Like last year, in fact.)  There will definitely be some Morstan mittens, because they’re new and shiny and snuggly and I loff them and they’re so darned quick to knit.

It’s got to the stage of term where I really want to go home, now.  It’s been a bit of a week of it, all things considered: I’ve been up til half past two twice, both times unrelated to actual work, I’ve had my ritual mid-term meltdown where everything gets so overwhelming and I spend about thirty-six hours basically hiding.  Now I just miss my mum.  There’s a possibility of going home for a few hours next week on the way back from a brief trip to France (!) and I’m really looking forward to the idea.

In the meantime, though, it feels like it’s all uphill a bit at the moment.

Just a quick note, in the end, to let you know I’m still alive.  There will be more, and FO pictures (for yes, I have them!) as soon as I can coerce someone else into giving me a hand with a camera.

If you’re interested about how NaNoWriMo is going for me – I hit 30,000 words yesterday, so right on target.  Some of it’s a bit like pulling teeth, though.  I’ve never written 30,000 words before, it’s quite exciting.  Doesn’t feel that long, for sure.

Comments»

1. Lucy - November 19, 2010

Keep going. The autumn term’s always the hardest, I find, and it’s the last time you’re going to have to do it.

Much love and mittens xx


Leave a Reply

