jump to navigation

Morstan Mittens November 10, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Big things, Breaking the fourth wall, Craftiness, Knitting, Look what I did, Lovely people, Patterns, Really good day.
trackback

Named after Mary Morstan, the most well-gloved of Victorian ladies, and, if you like, the sidekick’s sidekick.  She was Dr Watson’s wife in the Sherlock Holmes stories.  Importantly, she was the inspiration for these:

They were published today in Winter Knitcircus – alongside quite a lot of very beautiful things that I am absolutely in awe of being associated with.  I highly recommend having a flick through.

They also come fingerless:

I’m so unbelievably chuffed with them – ever since the samples came back I’ve been wearing them non-stop.  I adore Manos Silk Blend (the green yarn in the fingerless mitts) and I’d love to design with it again.  The Ethical Twist from the mittens might be familiar to you as well – I used it in my Garden Cardigan over the summer, and the mittens are just as warm and snuggly as the cardigan is.  I’m wearing the cardigan a lot these days, too.

You can buy the pattern from Knitcircus magazine directly – either singly or with the whole Winter pattern collection.  So many pretty things.  Squee.

Morstan mittens on Ravelry:

All photos courtesy of Knitcircus.

Comments»

1. Joann - January 9, 2011

I saw these beautiful mittens in KnitCircus, but I didn’t see the pattern itself. I didn’t see the pattern for sale either. Do I need to buy the entire issue, or is the pattern for sale through you somehow?

2. Fiona - January 10, 2011

I’m so glad you like the mittens!

About getting hold of them: while the Winter issue of Knitcircus is current, as far as I know you can only buy the whole issue – which is amazingly cheap! Otherwise, when the Spring issue comes out in early February you’ll be able to buy the pattern on its own from either Knitcircus or (probably) my Ravelry downloads. Keep an eye out here and on Knitcircus and I’ll make sure to post when it’s available by itself.

Thanks for your interest, I love hearing people say nice things about my designs!


Leave a Reply

