jump to navigation

It’s November (nearly)! October 31, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Knitting, Literature, Lovely people, NaNoWriMo.
trackback

I know I’ve been terrible recently about writing – and I’m hoping that’ll change soon, but every time so far I sit down to write a blog post I find I have nothing to say.  NaNoWriMo approaches, though – at midnight tonight, I’ll start writing and hopefully that’ll mean I have things to say again elsewhere as well.  That’s the plan, anyway.

So in lieu of conversation, have a bit of a reminder of this:

The November beret (remember that, right?) being worn by the very lovely Laura.  She took pictures of the green version at the original photoshoot, but unfortunately I didn’t get much of an opportunity to post some of the ones of her – a terrible shame indeed, because she’s disgustingly photogenic, don’t you think?

Anyway, it’s November here in a few hours’ time, I’m attempting to write a novel in November and I happen to have a pattern called ‘November’… can you see where I’m going with this?

At the end of November, I’ll make a donation of 50p per November beret pattern sold during the month to the Office of Letters and Light, because they’re fantastic and if there’s one thing I support it’s stories.  And also, one bit of creativity deserves another.

On the subject of which, I went to Newcastle yesterday to meet some fellow NaNo-ers.  I wholeheartedly approve of any venture which involves coffee, stickers, and meeting new people who make jokes about literature.  Considering that a significant number of my friendships over the years have been based on befriending people who recognise an Oscar Wilde quotation when they hear one, this is fantastic.

If you’re novelling this month, or writing creatively in any way, shape or form: good luck.  I have it on good authority that there a hundred-and-some thousand of us out there rooting for you.

If you’d like to buy a copy of the pattern for the November beret, you can buy it now from Ravelry (you don’t have to be a member, either!).  Or, you could give OLL a few pennies yourself anyway.  I’m fairly sure that qualifies you as A Good Person.

Comments»

1. Flix - October 31, 2010

Oscar Wilde FTW. Good luck with your writing 🙂

Fiona - November 2, 2010

Thank you! Two days in and I’m already needing it… sigh…

2. Flix - November 3, 2010

I considered doing NaBloPoMo for November. It’s not a surprise that I could more readily write 50,000 words of blog than novel. But I think I missed the boat on that endeavour.


Leave a Reply

