jump to navigation

Inspiration September 29, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Durham, Knitting, Literature, University.
trackback

It’s been raining on and off here for the last three days, and it’s grey and miserable and generally not particularly pleasant – which is why I’ve not been writing, I suppose, nobody wants that passing on.  People are slowly but surely coming back to the city – both of my housemates are here, now, and a few of the other techies, and it’s so exciting to see them all again.  Plus, the flat is now feeling a bit more like home now that it has three people, about a hundred extension cables and the smells of cooking in it.  This can only be a good thing.

I’ve spent the last few days working: pre-term reading, but also a few other bits and pieces.  I’ve decided this is the year I’m going to participate in NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, which is in November.  I haven’t written any length of fiction longer than about a thousand words in about the last five years, and it’s something I’m finding I’m having to train myself back into doing.  It’s amazing how these things leave you, but also how quickly they come back.  Contrary to most people’s response, though (which tends to be, “Ooh, and then you can publish it!”), I’m doing this entirely for my own benefit.  For fun.  For the personal challenge.  It may or may not become public, but, given my recent standard of writing, I’m inclined to think it’s unlikely.  Anyway, the planning is under way, and I’m already discovering the perks of being one’s own target audience – I’m really excited already.  How long this will continue is debatable.

Anyone else planning to join in?  I’d love to hear from you.

My knitting at the moment is a bit on the exciting, new side – I’m test-knitting a sock which is beautiful but complicated, and involves a lot of cables and twisted stitches.  Both of these are favourites of mine, and I’m really enjoying testing them.  More to follow, almost certainly, when I’ve finished them.  I have to say, testing patterns for other designers is one of my favourite things.  It’s like one great mystery knitalong where you just immerse yourself in the pattern – so useful for the designer, and so community-building for the testers.  Working with chatty test-knitters is another of my favourite things.

Added to which, finally, inspiration has struck and I’m knitting up the sample for a shawl.  I don’t know whether I love it more because it’s got lace in it, or it’s been such a challenge to put together, or because it’s really, really pretty.  The sample I’m knitting up at the moment is in the teal Araucania Ranco I got in Sheffield over the summer, and I have plans for a laceweight version as well.  Both of which should keep me busy for a while!

I’m crediting the knitting with keeping me sane in all this rain – even my wonderful library isn’t doing the trick.  They’re refurbishing, and I’ve been in there this week and it’s freezing.  I’m looking forward to December so much…

Comments»

1. luciainfurs - September 29, 2010

Write a few people in my Creative Writing Society are entering NaNoWriMo. It sounds quite challenging, I hope you enjoy it. I rather miss your poems on DA, so if you’re pleased with the result I hope the rest of us get to read a wee bit of it.
x

2. Jenny - October 8, 2010

I’m… thinking about it. I doubt I’ll get the time to do it properly, but I have an idea or two that I do want to expand upon, so the idea is actually to make a vague effort towards doing that every day in November, rather than to actually *write* the thing. And no, I don’t think I’d ever seek publication, if I thought it was OK I might show A or possibly Clare; and if they utterly raved about it I might show a few more people, and if *they* utterly raved I might think about it, but I don’t suppose it’ll get past the point where I decide that actually, it’s not OK…!


Leave a Reply

