jump to navigation

In York September 24, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Lovely people, Really good day.
trackback

I went to York today, seeing The Philosopher and (later) Captain Shakespeare.  It was great.  We went to Ramshambles, and Duttons (of course) and I spent a fortune on yarn and buttons (of course), and then we went back to Ramshambles so that Philosopher could get herself some yarn and needles and learn to knit again.  This made me exceptionally happy; Philosopher’s mum is a fantastic knitter and over the years has both taught me and inspired me to try so many new things – socks, lace, fair isle, entrelac – and it gives me such a buzz to return the craft to the family, and to share something I love so much with one of my best friends.  Few combinations have helped me so much through the melancholy times over the years as much as Philosopher and knitting.  Family aside, I feel like I’ve been able to give something back to her.

The yarn is beautiful, by the way.  It got dark before I could get a picture, so the best one I have is this:

It’s dyed in Yorkshire by the lady who owns the sheep it came from.  And it’s beautiful, and soft, and I don’t know what I’m going to make with it, but I have plenty of ideas. Scroll Lace Scarf (Ravelry link)? Multnomah? Gaenor?  The possibilities are endless.

I’ve waxed lyrical on how much I love York before – for me, it’s such an inspiring city; a maze of beautiful streets and architecture and wonderful little finds, and full of craft shops seemingly inhabited by people as enthusiastic about these things as I am.  As far as I’m concerned, there are few things as fun as being enthusiastic about things when there’s more than one of you.  It absolutely makes the world go round.

And then I got home to discover my skirt from Tara Starlet had arrived – it’s the black version, and I’ve been lusting over it for ages, and I’m so pleased to finally get my hands on it.  It fits like a dream!  I am, however, incapable of taking non-blurry photos of myself, so you’ll have to imagine that I look as gloriously kitsch and attractive in it as the model, and also that I have similarly excellent hairdressing skills.

It’s been a good day, all things considered.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

