jump to navigation

Something scary about laceweight September 16, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Durham, Knitting, University.
trackback

What do you think this is?

It’s (a slightly splodgey photo of) the cuff of a cardigan that, fingers crossed, will be bound off today.  The yarn is the Wollmeise Lace-Garn I got at KnitNation (yes, I know, I haven’t been able to shut up about it).  I decided to knit a long-sleeved, drapey thigh-prodding-length cardigan with it, for the main reason that I wanted to use up all 300g on the same thing, and it’s impossible to use less than 300g knitting a really long cardigan, isn’t it?

There’s still a third of the damned stuff left – I’m estimating I’ll have about 700yds left over.  How did this happen?  I do not understand how you can knit a whole cardigan that weighs less than 200g.

I think I might have to have a bit of a shawl binge now, to use it all up.

Back up to Durham on Sunday.  I don’t want to leave home, I never want to leave the place or the people, but this time I’m really looking forward to being back with something to focus on.  I’m missing my library, and my theatre, and just generally messing about being a student.  One year left.  My, my.  It’s gone before you know it, isn’t it?

Last year, I promised myself I’d work hard, and I think I did.  This year, I promise to up that.

Comments»

1. teacherface - September 19, 2010

Lace…pulls easily when trying to sew with it?

I’m all out of ideas! 😀
I miss my old university library. Spent so long in there at times you’d think I’d grow to hate it but there is an unique type of tranquil that can only be found there. I would go back if I could!

Have you made any more of those bags?

2. Rhian - September 24, 2010

I’m knitting the featherweight cardigan with Fyberspates nef lace, and you can do that with just 100g!

(this is why I chose it for my first large project; 1 skein = won’t break my wallet)

Fiona - September 24, 2010

Does it only take 100g?! That’s incredible. I’ve been looking at the featherweight cardigan for a while, I might have to have a go at it, when the weather gets warmer again. I haven’t come across anyone it doesn’t look fantastic on, either.

Rhian - September 24, 2010

Well it depends on the size you choose and the yardage of the exact yarn you pick, but I should be able to make a Small, with long sleeves, out of the one skein of Fyberspates. Someone made a Medium with 3/4 sleeves with it and only used 80g of the skein!


Leave a Reply

