jump to navigation

Spot the knitter September 8, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Uncategorized.
trackback

I know this advert has been out for a while, but every time I see it I laugh out loud.

It’s like coming home.  And did you see the knitter?  Of course you did.  How else would I have come across the advert?  You learn well, my friends.

It’s been busy round here  – I’ve finished at work for the summer, for which I cannot be thankful enough.  After being in Arran, spending four days a week in an airless room grates, even if the company makes everything go faster.  After I finished that, I went up to London to see Linguistic Housemate before she heads off to pastures new and Don’t Drink The Water Territory.

I’ve been knitting like nobody’s business, of course, and I’ve nearly finished the body of the cardigan I’ve been making out of my skein of Wollmeise.  It looks wonderful.  People have been commenting on the colour.  I have to stop every half-hour to bury my face in it and inhale.  Having said which, it appears my plan isn’t working – I’m still going to have quite a lot left at the end, even if I make it longer and give it full-length sleeves.  The weather is slowly but surely starting to turn, but I am determined to get some wear out of a laceweight cardi before autumn properly sets in.

I also have a skein of terracotta-coloured Malabrigo Sock that I bought at I Knit when I went into London to see Linguistic Housemate.  It’s intended for a pair of socks.  I know in my head exactly what sort of socks I want to make with it.  And yet… I can’t bear the prospect of putting Malabrigo on my feet.  I may chicken out and make a shawl instead.  Or a hat.  I haven’t decided yet.  Input welcome.

I went into town yesterday to go into the library (and do some work! yay) and happened to go into the sort of place where one might get hold of quite a bit of felt, and sequins, and zips, and those little safety pins you put on the back of brooches.  I think you can guess what I’ll be doing the next few days.

Comments»

1. Roobeedoo - September 8, 2010

Malabrigo socks do NOT wear well. They are extremely soft and beautiful but develop holes if actually worn, you know, on feet. It makes gorgeous shawls though!
Looking forward to seeing your cardi!

Fiona - September 8, 2010

I’m glad you told me – it shan’t be socks then! I thought it was too good to be true. Never mind, I shall have to continue with the queue browsing…

2. Flix - September 9, 2010

I like that advert.


Leave a Reply

