jump to navigation

In which Scotland was big enough for the both of us August 29, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Big things, Craftiness, Knitting, Look what I did, Really good day, Uncategorized.
trackback

Dad and I went to Scotland.  It was stunning.  I will now proceed to bombard you with pictures of mountains.

Following streams is not always a clever idea, as we found, especially if you’re following them downwards.  Wet trouser legs all round!

The north of the island is just in every way glorious.  We walked along the top of this, and never saw a single person:

Can you imagine that?  I can’t think of anywhere else I’ve ever been that I could say that about.  Which means either I haven’t travelled much, which is entirely likely, or that’s rare.  On the way back, the Peak District seemed to contain a stifling number of people.  I couldn’t believe it.

This is probably my favourite view of the year.

Hope Island.  We unfortunately didn’t have time to visit, but seeing that from a trig point, very high up and from not all that great a distance, and I assure you it hasn’t been misnamed in the slightest.

There was also knitting!  And outrageous posing with same!  And there were definitely tights.

This might just be the best photo taken of me all year.  I don’t generally take photos particularly well.

There was also knitting, of course, and that’s probably going to be blocked tomorrow, so hopefully there will be pictures soonish.

In other knitting news, the Incredible Custom-Fit Raglan is, I can confirm, a terrifying piece of machinery.  Having knitted one cardigan and half a jumper of upperwear in my life (the former of which is what’s being blocked tomorrow), I decided to jump in at the deep end and make something from scratch myself.  I’m blaming Knit and Crochet Blog Week from a few months ago – having admitted I wanted to design my own cardigan, I haven’t been able to get the idea out of my head.   As far as I’ve got, which is just starting on the waist shaping, the logistics are fiendish and they’re making my head hurt.  However, with the judicious use of time, a lot of chocolate and numerous spreadsheets, I think I’m getting the hang of it.  Probably.  If I finish this thing, it is getting worn til it falls apart.

Comments»

1. teacherface - August 30, 2010

I think absolutely everyone I know has been to Scotland this year/summer and I’m completely jealous. Those pictures look amazing and I bet they don’t even do the real views any justice (not taking anything away from your photos 😛 ). Anyone willing to fund a trip to Scotland for me?!

p.s. that last picture is brill, does it sum you up well? 😛

2. Fiona - August 30, 2010

I definitely want to go back at some point, and maybe island-hop, or go up Goatfell (largest mountain on the island – Dad refused to go up it, but I’ve not given up the idea!) – it was fantastic, though, and I loved every minute. Did spot a youth hostel, but have yet to plot whether it’s accessible by train from Glasgow. Hmm…

I am normally less photogenic, pulling a silly face and hiding in terror from any suggestion I wear shorts. Otherwise, yes, it’s fairly accurate! Even down to the handknit socks 😛

3. Cheryl - September 2, 2010

I’m off to Arran in a couple of weeks, and Goatfell is definitely on the cards. You’ve got some beautiful photos there, I can’t wait to see it all for myself!


Leave a Reply

