jump to navigation

Falling off the wagon August 13, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Really good day.
trackback

I have been on a bit of a laceweight binge today.

What happened was this: Mum and I had a day off that coincided, so we decided the best thing to do with this was a Monumental Crafts Of London Day: coffee at the British Theatre, wandering round Liberty’s fabric section and stalking haughtily around the button collection at John Lewis on Oxford Street making mildly vitriolic comments about how if I wanted to spend £8 on three yards of slightly fancy elastic, I’d gold plate it, and how Cath Kidston is absolutely the first person I would choose to educate me in the ways of vintage things.

Oh yeah, and we went to Loop.  Of course we went to Loop.  They’ve just moved from a one-storey shop to a two-storey shop with armchairs, so there was no way we were going to miss it.

This Misti Alpaca is for Laminaria Estonian lace shawl which I keep meaning to make.  It’s pinkier than the photo suggests and is strong competition for the World’s Softest Thing, alongside very small babies and the fluff found on the tummies of hamsters.  Needless to say, a fair portion of the train journey home was spent with my face buried in it.  The gentleman in a suit sat opposite me gave me some fantastic confused looks.

This Malabrigo Lace is just because.  I don’t know what it’ll be, but it’s going to be fantastic.

I absolutely have not just bought a mile and a half of laceweight yarn.  No way.  This is not a problem.

I’m off to Bristol tomorrow, meeting people I met on the internet and probably buying more yarn.  There will almost certainly be more pictures.  Excellent.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

