jump to navigation

Did somebody mention a hat? August 4, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Look what I did, Patterns.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I am proud, honoured and delighted to introduce the November beret.  It was published about fifteen minutes ago, and it looks like this:

(Ably modelled by the excellent Miss Lawrence.)

It’s been a few months in the making, and far more complicated to work on than the fingerless gloves were, mainly because of my insistence on having charts that look professional.  I cannot abide sloppy charts, and I absolutely shall not be responsible for them.

The result, however, is a hat that’s really, really good fun to knit.  I’ve made it twice, and will probably make it again, which should tell you something right from the off because I never do that.  My testers – who, by the way, have been to a man absolutely fantastic – also said they really enjoyed knitting it.

I could not be happier with it, essentially.  It’s squishy, and slouchy, and surprisingly easy and therapeutic once you’ve knitted a few rows.  Also, it goes really quickly, which to me is always the sign of a good pattern.

Even if it is August, and entirely the wrong time of year for hats.  I can’t wait for the nights to draw in so I can wear it properly.

Comments»

1. teacherface - August 4, 2010

Oh that’s brilliant, and I love the pattern. Do you do commissions? :-p

Fiona - August 10, 2010

I may well do at some point – but Flix will tell you how rubbish I am at knitting anything to any kind of deadline, I have a tendency to lose interest every few months and wander off. But there is potential, still! After all, I love this pattern so very much.

2. ewenique - August 12, 2010

this is a gorgeous beret – well done!
I’m off to add it to my queue.


Leave a Reply

