jump to navigation

Housekeeping July 6, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Look what I did.
trackback

It’s been a bit quiet around here, sorry.  With regards to blog, I’m planning on a bit of a revamp in the next week or two, so it might stay a bit quiet until I’ve finished deciding what I want to do with it – and whether I’m up for splurging on my own domain name.  Some of you have done it.  How much is it and is it worth it?  I honestly can’t decide right now.

With regards to the real world, we’ve now moved out of Techie Towers, Linguistic housemate has sodded off for pastures new (and, I believe, to ogle Frenchmen for the summer – lucky her!), and we’ve moved into the new flat.  Which, I might add, is above the theatre.  No work will be done this year. I can’t tell if I’m excited or dreading it.  I’m also back home for the summer, and back at work on Ladies’ Fashions from tomorrow.  The excitement is palpable.  I am clinging onto today like my last day of freedom.  Let us say that if I didn’t have to go back, I wouldn’t.

Knitting-wise… well, there’s another pattern on the way!  I’m looking for test knitters as we speak, so if you’d like headgear as natty as that of Ms Lawrence here:

…pop on over to the Ravelry Free Pattern Testers Group and we’ll fix you up.  Otherwise, fingers crossed the pattern will be out by the beginning of next month.  D’you know, I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of this.

What can I say?  All the cool kids have them.  Even if only the first 50% of them brush their hair beforehand.

Speaking of messing about with improvising things, I’ve been looking at what I’ve knitted over the last few months, and I’m spotting a trend.  A green, brown and grey trend.  I mean – just scroll up.  I rest my case.  Anyway, the point is, replace the green with cream and you have my new amusement:

Colourwork, right?  I was messing about with it last night and it looks fantastic.  I’ll get out of the rut soon, I promise.  But for now… I think earth tones are my Thing at the moment.

To be continued, I think.

Comments»

1. Dickie - July 6, 2010

Re: domain names. I use one.com for my domain and hosting. It costs something like £15 per year, and for the first year you only need to pay the setup cost which is something like a tenner. Whether it’s worth it is up to you; I think it’s definitely worth it, considering that it costs so little.

2. Lucy - July 6, 2010

I already pay WordPress for the ability to use custom CSS (ie. give my page the design I want it) and that costs about £8 a year. I’ll be honest, though, I really don’t see the point in buying a domain name unless you’re going to be using your blog for professional purposes. But then, each to their own, I guess 🙂

3. teacherface - July 6, 2010

I have to agree with Lucy (and be a bit blunt) – what is the point?

Much love for the yarn picture!

4. Fiona - July 6, 2010

Well, for professional purposes, essentially. I’ll have to see how it looks in the next few months or so but I’d quite like this blog to look, and feel, a bit more professional. I’ve never particularly been bothered by the idea before, because it’s been entirely a personal blog before, but now I’m actually starting to use it a bit differently, it’s something I’d like to look into. That and the purchase of a halfway to decent camera.

5. Flix - July 7, 2010

You can’t use custom CSS on wordpress without paying? Not that I know anything about CSS, but I don’t know, I thought you could. /shrug

I like the idea of my own domain name, just because it would look neat. And if I had more of a reason or theme to blogging, I’d consider it, you know, for the cost of missing a few overpriced drinks a year…

6. gflawrence - July 11, 2010

Well, that’s my face on the internet. 😛 xxx


Leave a Reply

