jump to navigation

Another one bites the dust May 26, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Knitting, Law, Sheer bloody-mindedness, Uncategorized.
trackback

Hurrah hurrah hurrah.  No more trusts, not ever, none at all.  No more Re London Wines, no more McPhail v Doulton, no more dread at the phrase “Lord Millett dissenting” or some silly mock-scientific graph about what happens if you put someone else’s money in your bank account, and no more Stack and Dowden ever ever ever.

That latter I’m particularly happy about.  It’s a case about a cohabiting couple with joint ownership of a house and what happens when it all goes horribly wrong.  If I ever end up buying a house with someone, I want to have sole legal ownership, let the other person pay the mortgage, tell them the house is as much theirs as my backside’s and wallpaper the whole place twice over with no help, just to mess with the family lawyers.

Anyway, it’s all done and dusted now and the two left are far more my cup of tea.  Exams mess with my head a bit.

Have some more shawl, anyway:

It’s grown a bit, and personally I think it looks glorious, even if the photo is a bit smudged.  I’m a fan of the pattern.  It’s Judy Marples’ Calais Shawl.  I had the pattern memorised in one six row repeat, and once you’ve done it a few times the double-decrease (sl2, k1, psso) hardly interrupts my flow at all.  Plus, I think it looks better than the ordinary sl1-k2tog-psso double-decrease – you don’t get the ‘bar’ of the slipped stich jumping out at you so much.  It’s something I’d like to experiment with.  With all this time and yarn budget at the moment, however, I think it’s going to be a while.  She’s written another one, however, called the Dover Castle Shawl (Ravelry link), which looks unbelievably wearable – my summer knitting is multiplying by the day at the moment!

Friday afternoon’s going to be exciting.  I’ll say no more now (ahem) but it involves about a dozen of us, all various combinations of techie, archaeologist and boy scout.  Rest assured, there will be photos.  And, at the time, probably a fair bit of staring, too.  Heh heh heh.

Comments»

1. Jenny - May 29, 2010

I shall have eto remember this Judy Marples woman for when I get good enough. I have knitting plans for the summer – given that I will be on a train for nearly two hours a day, I will need them! But I’m going to start simple. Haven’t decided exactly what yet.

2. teacherface - May 29, 2010

😀 Yay!

3. Lucy - May 29, 2010

OH, guess what’s just come up on my Facebook newsfeed?! Ohohohohoh!!!

4. Fiona - May 29, 2010

HA! I had no idea what you meant for a second. Yes. Yes we did. Pictures on blog to follow.


Leave a Reply

