jump to navigation

Toes May 2, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting.
Tags:
trackback

One.

Two, three.

Four.  (Dodgy photo!)  And, as of this afternoon…

Five.

Soon to be six, but you can’t count toes so quickly when you knit top-down.  But the colours, right?  All the colours.

There’s one love that we all share: yarn. Blog about a particular yarn you have used in the past or own in your stash, or perhaps one that you covet from afar. If it is a yarn you have used you could show the project that you used it for, perhaps writing a mini ‘review’. Perhaps, instead, you pine for the feel of the almost mythical qiviut? You could explore and research the raw material and manufacturing process if you were feeling investigative.

So it’s the end of the week!  I’ve found quite a few more blogs that I’ll be reading avidly, and I hope I might have gained a few more readers myself.  Either way, I’ve really enjoyed it and it’s been a fantastic opportunity to look back at my knitting and think yeah.  I did that.  And I’m really quite proud of it.  And, of course, to look at the future and all the things I’ve still yet to try.  There’s so much to have a go at!  Anyway.  Yarn.

The colours are the thing, for me, absolutely and always.  I’d probably knit with rope if it were a glorious enough colour.  As it is, my favourite yarns are almost without failure hand-dyed.  I love small-scale dyers.  Unfortunately, this isn’t usually particularly healthy on a student budget – which, unfortunately, means I’ve had to steer clear of Etsy on the most part, because shipping from America tends to be out of my budget.  However, here are some of my favourite indie dyers in tue UK:

Laughing Yaffle. Colour saturation like no other.  Absolutely amazing.

Easyknits. I’ve made a few shawls out of Easyknits yarn.  It’s yummy.

Violet Green. Utterly droolable, free shipping is so enticing.

And my current absolute favourite, Old Maiden Aunt.  (That’s a very attractive cuff, right there, don’t you think?)

Oh- what?  I was only supposed to talk about one yarn?  Sorry.  I got a bit carried away.  No, no I admit, that’s not unusual.

Comments»

1. Flix - May 2, 2010

Amazing 🙂

I like colours. A lot.

2. Becky - May 2, 2010

Beautiful colors. I love the pattern for the mitts.


Leave a Reply

