jump to navigation

Beads make everything better. Fact. May 1, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Theatre.
Tags:
trackback

Apologies that yesterday’s entry was so short: I had about ten minutes before I had to be off to the theatre to see a production of  Yasmina Reza’s Art.  It was very good.  For a play involving three people arguing about an entirely white painting and how pretentious they all are for an hour and a half, it was very, very good.  It featured three actors who, to me, make a play at our student theatre unmissable purely by being in it.  Ditto the director, in fact.  Unfortunately, all of them are leaving at the end of this year.  Durham’s theatre scene shall be the worse for it, I’m sure.

I went to bed last night at about half past ten and slept for eleven hours straight.  I feel no better.  I am behind with my revision, as I suppose was almost inevitable.  I’m tired and as with every year I don’t really know how I’m going to manage the next four or five weeks.  Please send me mojo – and send it to any other students you know, or are aware of, as well.  Chances are they’re stressed out of their minds as well, and could do with any thought you can spare them.  Especially the finalists.  How they haven’t exploded yet I’m not entirely sure; nevertheless, I am very impressed.

On with the craftiness, say I.

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of hole. Or maybe that jumper that your did just didn’t like that much…

I’ve knitted quite a lot of things over the last year or so.  I still use a lot of them: socks, shawls, the occasonal hat.  The black and white Op-Art blanket that I made last exam season is still on my bed, and was an absolute Godsend in the Durham winter last year.  A lot of things I’ve knitted for other people – if you read this blog and have been a recipient of one of my FOs (I know there are at least three or four of you! and at least two in waiting, please bear with me, sorry…) – let me know how they’re doing?  Or send me a picture.  There are few greater squee-worthy moments for me as a knitter than to see something I’ve made being used on a regular basis.

(One of the marginally greater ones I’ve discovered in the last week or so, I have to say, is when someone makes something you’ve designed.  Seriously.  That is the absolute business.  I know I keep saying that the pattern’ll be up in a few weeks, but it’s taking so much effort not to post every picture I’ve taken of it in the last month – and there are a lot – and talk about it non-stop.  My housemates are very tolerant people, I’ll just say that.)

The finished project I want to talk about, though, is probably the one I’ve got the most use out of so far.  That’s saying a lot.  It’s not even the blue beaded shawl I wore for months non-stop – which might be my favourite thing I’ve made ever – although it is beaded.  It’s these:

I made these about this time last year.  They were my first outing with beads, and fingerless gloves, and they are glorious.  I get a fair few compliments on them.  Partly I think this is because they’re quite conservative, in terms of the sort of things most people would wear: bluey-green, not too bright,  cables not too gymnastic, thumb fairly simple, really very subdued in fact.  A lot of people might wear them.  A few people might even buy them.  I find that a bit sad, in some ways.  Maybe I just prefer to knit outlandish things!  (It’s a distinct possibility.)  But as an introduction to knitting things, these fingerless gloves tend to put people at their ease.  Added to which, they’re warm, and comfy, and the right size for my wrists.  Oh, and the yarn is Araucania Ranco Multy, and when I started knitting them I just had to show them to everyone in sight because it is so pretty and slightly mottled and wonderful.  I could neither wish nor hope for more, I think.

If you’d like to make a pair yourself, the beads are size 6 seed beads, and the pattern is free on Ravelry here.  Just don’t say I didn’t warn you not to look at the designer’s other patterns – that would be enabling of the highest order.

I’ve had a tough time today not getting distracted by other people’s finished projects – I am in awe of all the pretty things, and especially all the wonderful stories that come with them.

Comments»

1. Allison - May 1, 2010

They are so elegant with those beautiful beads. I love fingerless gloves and have a crocheted pair I wore on chilly winter evenings while knitting.

Fiona - May 2, 2010

Aww, thank you! Fingerless gloves are the absolute business – I’m always amazed at how quickly they knit up.

2. annadegenhardt - May 2, 2010

My socks are in beautiful shape, thank you. 🙂

Sadly, I did leave them at home this term, because I’m a dunce.

xxx

3. Jenny - May 2, 2010

I am going to make these gloves, I have decided. This will be interesting, and will take years and years and years, but I think I can probably do it. And I’ve wanted a pair of fingerless gloves for ages because my hands get cold very easily :).

You can probably guess actually (I was going to say ‘you have no idea…’) how much this cheers me up!

Right. REVISION.

xxxx

4. Lucy - May 2, 2010

Mojo being sent. Mojo welcomed back over here, if you would be so kind. Lovely gloves.

5. Flix - May 4, 2010

I love the gloves and the beads and the one painted nail.

I’m right about ready to explode. Or fall apart.

Mojomojomojo.


Leave a Reply

