jump to navigation

Really busy day April 30, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Law, Really good day, University.
Tags:
trackback

The number of things that have happened today…

Finally we have a flat sorted for next year.  It’s been taking a while to sort out and prod various parties into getting their acts together, but it’s all set now, and hopefully we’re signing the contract on Wednesday.  It’s a bit of a weight off my mind knowing I’m essentially not going to be homeless next term!  The flat itself is smallish, but there’re only going to be three of us next year (Linguistic housemate is sodding off somewhere exotic for the year, lucky her!) and it couldn’t be situated more perfectly – a mere stone’s throw from everywhere I need next year.

And the dissertation topics are out!  (Maybe not quite as exciting for the rest of you, but I’m weird like that.)  There are a lot that spark my excitement, a few that spark my interest, and one in particular that is absolutely made for me.  How do I know this?  Because the supervisor is one of my tutors, and last term I cornered her and asked her if she would supervise me for a particular topic.  It’s on the list, practically to the word.  I am really excited.

Also, on the front of exciting things, Lawyerly housemate made stilton soup – given that I don’t like strong cheese at all, it was remarkably good – and fresh bread.  Domestic goddess points to him, then.  Excellent stuff.

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favourite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you liek to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub?

Everywhere.  In bed, first thing in the morning and last thing at night.  On trains.  On buses.  In cafés.  In lectures.  At the theatre while I’m waiting for everyone else to get their acts together, and if I’m working, immediately before the beginning of each act to calm me down.  Waiting for interviews.  In the library, while I’m reading cases.  In front of the television.

Not the bath.  It’d get wet, surely?  It’s like reading in the bath, I’m sure it’s impossible.  But everywhere else I possibly can.

I read somewhere that to be world class at something, you have to practise it three hours, for at least a decade.  One and a half years down, eight and a half to go…

As usual, plenty more where this came from…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

