jump to navigation

Pushing my luck April 29, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Small things.
Tags:
trackback

Revision at the moment is making me exhausted.  I’m going to bed about half past eleven, and setting my alarm for a quarter past eight, and sleeping straight through (which at least is better than a week ago), and still feeling shattered for half the morning.  I’m back on the mindless knitting for hours at a time so I stop fidgeting, and overall not doing a particularly good job of concentrating.  Onwards and upwards though, life might not be a sprint at the moment but it’s not a marathon either.  It’s… more like swimming a kilometre.  It takes long enough for you to get bored and tired but not long enough for your knees to give out.  You have to turn around in the pool a few times, and no, I don’t know where this analogy’s going but this is what revision does for my creativity.  i.e. Kills it dead. Never mind.  Let’s talk about things I’d far rather be doing instead.

Is there a skill related to your hobby that you hope to learn one day? maybe you’re a crocheter who’d also like to knit? Maybe you’d like to learn to knit continental, knit backwards, try cables or attempt stranded colourwork.

This one’s far easier than yesterday’s, I think.  What I would really love to do is be sat down and shown how one goes about lever knitting.  (Brief definition for non-knitter readers: this is a really, really fast way of knitting, as used by a lot of cottage industries way back when, and it’s based on the idea that if you have to move less to do a stitch, you can go faster.  Basically, you clamp your right needle in your armpit and you go like the clappers.)

The fact is, I think I do a variation on this anyway, and it’s something I’d really love to have a go at properly.  There are all kinds of techniques and skills out there that are fairly prevalent today: your continental knitting, backwards knitting, cables and stranded colourwork being prime examples.  If I want to have a go at these sorts of things, which generally I do, I sit down with a book and Youtube for an hour or two and I work out how they’re done.  It’s all the techniques that have gone out of fashion that I’m particularly interested in.  The ones used this time last century, or earlier.  Knitting came from somewhere, obviously, and it’s something very tactile.  Not, I suppose, the sort of history one ought to look at from behind a glass screen.  I want to try lever knitting partly because of all the history embedded in it.

Partly I also just want to go like the clappers.

Find out what other people want to learn to do!

Comments»

1. klccreations - April 29, 2010

I haven’t tried that either. It looks awkward. Interesting though.

2. Fiona - April 29, 2010

Hmm, I don’t know. It looks fairly similar to the way I knit anyway, only faster. I could never get the hang of Continental, the way I hold the needles gives my hands cramp, so I suppose if you’re used to knitting that way it probably does look really awkward!

3. AC - April 29, 2010

I’ve never heard of lever knitting. Sounds interesting…

4. Allison - April 29, 2010

I had never heard of lever knitting in all of my years of knitting. I’ve got to give that a go!


Leave a Reply

