jump to navigation

Aspiring and cardigans April 27, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Sheer bloody-mindedness.
Tags:
trackback

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

There are always bits of the mountain left to climb, as far as I’m concerned.  If you’ve done all there is, you haven’t made up enough new bits yourself.

The thing that I aspire to make, which is a huge undertaking of time and dedication and involves skills I don’t have, is to design a cardigan.  In multiple sizes, because I’m nitpicky like that.  Preferably from first principles.  This is a monumental task, for me, not least because at time of writing, I have never knitted a cardigan.  Or, completely, a pullover.  (The orangey one has had to stay at home due to lack of space in my rucksack, unfortunately – to be finished over the summer.)  It’s not that they’re too big a project for me: knee-high socks on tiny needles are something I have no problem with, afghans, no trouble.  I’ve just never knit anything that… prominent, if you like.  So anyone who does knit beautiful upper body furniture on a regular basis (Tania, I’m looking at you here!), well, I’m a little bit in awe.

And do not get me started on people who, at the age of nineteen, can design a cardigan, in six sizes, with a lace pattern and a vaguely unusual construction, and have it accepted by possibly the biggest online free knitting magazine there is…  Don’t get me started on how amazing that is or I shall be sick, I tell you, with the jealous.  Some people have all the talent, and the practice, and the good ideas.

Anyway, it seems like as whopping a challenge as I’m likely to get so maybe it’s something to think about for the next year.  Or maybe I should just find out how they work, first.

On an entirely unrelated note, there’s a massive thumping noise coming periodically from downstairs.  Ah, the ever-present joy of builders during exam periods.  I thank my God of choice that we managed to dissuade the landlord fom trying to knock down and replace two bedroom walls and my wardrobe over the next few weeks.  It took some doing, though.  Think I might go to the library.  *headdesk*

Comments»

1. Tania - April 27, 2010

Do you know, I actually had to click on my own name there to be sure you meant me and not some other Tania!! You’re incredibly kind 😀 I think the thing you need to remember about your OWN aspiration is, 18 months ago the thought of making any kind of sweater struck my heart with pants-wetting terror. Sometimes you just have to start something to think “Hey! It’s not so bad!”

Have a go and I’ll be a proud test knitter 😉

2. Fiona - April 27, 2010

You’re very welcome 🙂 and I definitely plan to! Actually knitting a cardigan of any description is my challenge for the summer, so maybe in the next year or so, if I get any half-decent ideas, who knows what they might turn into…

3. Roobeedoo - April 28, 2010

Well… my Cinders stockings were designed after knitting only three pairs of socks, if I remember correctly, and they were the first thing I ever designed. I reckon if you want ot do it, you will – jsut be prepared for a lot of ripping back!

4. Academia « de minimis - July 5, 2011

[…] and one more thing – remember August of last year, when I said that the thing I aspired to most in the field of knitting was to design my own […]


Leave a Reply

