jump to navigation

The return of the camera March 27, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Look what I did, Lovely people.
trackback

I got a new phone yesterday – late Christmas present – and one of the perks is that now I have a working camera in my possession!  (I’m still going to get a decent one, but frankly after this long without one it’ll do for now.)  So I thought now would be a good time to catch up on some of the knitting I’ve been doing recently.

I finished the shawl I made for the Ravelympics – then waited ages to block it, and it’s still waiting to have the ends woven in, so I’m not sure it counts, but hell, it’s beautiful.  Check this:

I know.  What colours!  What smooshiness!  That’s Malabrigo for you apparently (non-knitters: it’s a brand.  A really good one, I am reliably informed) – I’d never used it before and I am such a convert, for working with, for wearing, and for blocking.  I was seriously expecting it to bleed everywhere when I soaked it for blocking, but, nada.  I’m in love.

The border took forever, but frankly, who gives a damn when it looks like this:

Adorably cute. If a little blurry.  Look at the colours!  I love me the dark reds at the moment, and this is just… glorious.  And when you touch it, it’s so soft, and lovely… so I’m a Malabrigo convert.  Also Gudrun Johnston who designed the Aestlight shawl pattern is a genius.  It’s a construction I’d love to have a mess about with at some point.

Anyway, onwards, or I shall be petting the pretty all day, and we’ll never get anything done.  I finished the first one of these:

…and am part way through the second.  I adore it, with the exception of the heel and toe, where the colours have POOLED TERRIFYINGLY, and it’s really ugly.  But what can you do, there was no way of avoiding it (does anyone who’s made a short-row heel before know if it would have made any difference?  I kind of think it might have, a bit, but it still wouldn’t have escaped the pooling entirely…) and I suppose I’ll just have to look upon it as a Design Element.  Flix, if you’re reading this, I know this was going to be for you, but when I tried it on I thought it was probably going to be too narrow – my own stupid fault for making socks on unbelievably tiny needles.

Anyway, the upshot of this is that I am making another pair of socks!  And these ones are really exciting socks, and they’re combining many of my favourite things: a) lace, b) twisted stitches, c) my favourite sock needles in the world ever, and d) some breathtakingly gorgeous yarn.  Shortly before Lent started, I went a bit wild over at Old Maiden Aunt which has without doubt some of my absolute favourite hand-dyed yarns ever.  This colourway is called ‘Last Night’s Red Dress’, and here is a sneak preview of the sock, as it were, because some things do have to stay a surprise:

(Yes I am wearing it; yes I am that pale.  Apologies for the blurry, but it’s going to be a very sexy sock!)

Do you remember the lovely green tweedy cardigan?  It’s on hold at the moment because I forgot to put buttonholes up one side and I’m still trying to work out if I can rectify it or whether I’ll have to rip back eleven inches of six-stitch-per-inch cardigan.  (Answer: not on your life am I ripping it back, but equally nor am I steeking something like a dozen two-stitch buttonholes Elizabeth Zimmerman-style because I don’t think my nervess can take it!)

So the only other project on the go at the moment is this:

This is the Swatch-Defying Sweater Of Doom, and it deserves a post to itself.  Kudos if you can spot the epic mistake(s) from the picture, but it’s quite blurry and I’m fairly adept at the MacGyvering now so hopefully, fingers crossed it’s relatively well covered up.

That’s the trouble with me and knitting, when I’ve made a mistake, I’m very unwilling to rip back five hours’ work to rectify it.  I just can’t do it.  If I could knit faster, maybe it’d be easier.

Anyway, that’s about the extent of what you missed, I think.

Oh, and one more thing, Midge is doing her Duke of Edinburgh Silver Award practice expedition on Dartmoor as of this morning, and apparently it’s going to be a bit wet and horrible.  Mum and I basically force-fed her sausages this morning, so she should have a fair bit of energy, but she’s not back til Tuesday.  So please, if you will, send her a bit of mojo, because it’s bad enough being on Dartmoor when it’s raining, without the added joy of having a tent on your back, no access to a hot shower, and five tired teenage girls for company.  I’m sure she’ll do amazingly. 🙂

Comments»

1. Tania - March 28, 2010

Aestlight has been in my queue for aaages but I have no yarn earmarked for it yet (ponders going over to Old Maiden Aunt…hmm…) Is she a Beth Orton fan? I’m pretty sure she must have taken “Last Night’s Red Dress” from the song Central Reservation!

2. Roobeedoo - March 30, 2010

Lovely Aestlight! And the stripes on that heel are barely pools at all – what is the yarn? The red sock is looking very glamourous too. Good work!

3. Fiona - March 30, 2010

Tania, I think you’re right about Beth Orton – it rings bells, I think it was one of the few musicians on the list I’d heard of!

The green and purple yarn is from Laughing Yaffle, and I love it. It does an amazing line in psychadelic colours, which makes me insanely happy. Thank you!

4. Flix - April 3, 2010

I do quite love the purple and green and it makes me a little sad that it is unlikley to make it to my feet. I have no idea what pools are, but apart from the fact that the foot looks like it’s not attached to a body, that sock looks quite marvellous as far as I can tell. The colours on the last night’s red dress are also beautiful. I like colours. Also, the border on that shawl is amazing, I really don’t get how people can actually do something that perfect by hand.

Fiona - April 3, 2010

Not sure how clear I made it, but if you’d like them the new socks are with you in mind instead – and they definitely will fit, I checked on my sister who is probably about the same shoe size as you. Hope that’s okay!

Flix - April 4, 2010

I didn’t want to make any assumptions, nor get my hopes up just in case they weren’t…but now, excitement has soared as a result of confirmation and big grin is here. Thank you 😀


Leave a Reply

