jump to navigation

Mourning the loss of my camera February 15, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Knitting, Lovely people.
trackback

For those of you to whom this will mean anything at all: I am not immune to the barage of Winter Olympic knitting, even if I have failed to partake in the Ravelympics this year.  I’m doing it Yarn Harlot stylee, because I don’t have that much time at the moment and the last thing I could be doing with is the mass of enabling that the Ravelympics will almost certainly entail.  So I shall merely watch with a certain degree of joy.  I’m sure you’ll all be wonderful.  Also, I am so up for 2012 it’s untrue.  There will almost certainly be Union Jack dishcloths.  (Back to speaking English now.)

I am knitting an Aestlight shawl in mottled dark red and brown Malabrigo yarn and it looks beautiful. Until this morning when the ball of wool I’d so carefully wound so that the yarn fed from the centre – it took for ever – turned out to be about a third comprised of knot.  I could cry.  I did screech a bit.  I would have loved to have shown you a picture of the horror, and then felt better!  But sadly it was not to be.  So I’ll take it to lunch with the impromptu knitting group that some of my friends and I seem to have formed on Monday lunchtimes in the student union (and Fesoes! who doesn’t knit but drinks tea and draws pretty things and regales us with tales of ninjas) and we shall all lament over it.

I also really want a picture of the papier mache dragon currently residing half-finished in our living room.  It’s a sight to behold, surely.

I’ve therefore decided, upon spending quite a lot on yarn yesterday, that I’m going to give buying up knitting supplies for Lent, and with the money I save I’m going to go out and buy a half decent camera.  Yes!  That is how much I spend on yarn, needles, and probably patterns too in the average forty days.  Fear not.  I’m sure I’ll find something to knit with in the meantime…

Oh.  And have this.  Because it’s pretty.  (I knitted it during Guys and Dolls, and Linguistic Housemate has already shotgunned it when the other one’s finished.  Also I made her an Ishbel, which looks awesome, so she is particularly well-endowed on the knitted goods front at the moment.)

I ❤ fingerless gloves.

And now I’ll be off to go and buy some felt to play with.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

