jump to navigation

Thursday January 29, 2010

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Sheer bloody-mindedness, Theatre.
trackback

Thursdays are rubbish.  There is no getting around it; Thursdays are just not a good day.  Not a good day at all.

For what it’s worth, yesterday involved the joy of nightmares, back aches, several hours in the library trying to catch up on work that turned out to be utterly pointless, a telephone call after which I am fairly sure of the myriad of ways at which I fail at life, more Pro Plus than I’ve ever taken in a day before, and a lukewarm shower.  And all this before I even entered the theatre.  At which four members of the cast received separate, unrelated injuries, one burst into tears shortly before the end of the interval, the gun didn’t go off, one of the crew got caught on stage just before the curtain call, and in short it was a typical bloody Thursday.

The girl who got caught on stage had apprently had a worse day than me because she took a little calming down.  I felt for her so much – she, when she’s angry and sleep deprived and kicking herself, reminds me very much of me, angry and sleep deprived and kicking myself.  It is thus a very, very bad idea for us to this in the same place at the same time – luckily I was in autopilot last night, but my heart absolutely went out to her and because that’s what people have to do to me when I’m panicking, I assaulted her with logic (‘Look, even you know it’s not your fault and if you try and tell me it is, you also know that’s wallowing – shit happens, right?’), gave her a bear-hug and bought her a drink.

I earned that G&T.

Today hasn’t been much better, really, except for I was really late to a lecture, did no work and browsed Etsy for ages.  I can’t afford a gorgeous teal-coloured vintage Laura Ashley velvet dress, but my god I’d love one.  (The buttons on the back are such a perfect touch.  I love Laura Ashley so much.)

I feel like I’m banging my head against a brick wall here.

Sod this for a laugh.  My call time is in half an hour; I’m going to make some more fake blood, mosey down the road, and get me some falafel.  I’ve been looking forward to falafel all week.

Tomorrow: crew brunch, matinee, evening show, get-out, aftershow.  Wish me luck.  I’m the one that reeks of espresso.

ETA: Oh, while I remember – the i-whatever it is has been out for a whole two days now, so I’m going to go right ahead and assume you’ve seen the Mad Men video clip.  Therefore I shall make one witty observation, and direct you to someone else who says it better than I do.

They didn’t say that about the Wii, did they? Here you go, have a little of my technophobia.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

