jump to navigation

It’s me again. November 23, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Breaking the fourth wall, Lovely people, Really good day, Small things.
trackback

Hello.

I got home about an hour and a half ago.  On the train, I read two articles, then stuck my headphones in and knitted for the rest of the journey.  And it was blissful.

I got back home to discover… more metaphorical hugs than I could have hoped or wished for.  It made me grin from ear to ear – exactly as it did when I checked my blog at His Nibs’ earlier, and discovered some of the comments here.  I think you ought to know that it made up for the fact that the floor space in the living room is nil, and that in the hall is rapidly diminishing.  It made up for the distinct lack of heat in my bedroom and all the textbooks and bits of paper and folders and washing dumped on my bed that I hadn’t had time to sort on Friday.  It almost – not quite – made up for the fact that the kitchen is a biological warzone and nobody appears to have done any washing up since I left.  But all in all, you know, feeling like you have a bit of back-up, a safety net if you will, makes all the difference.  (And, I have to say, discovering a new lurker always cheers me up!  Fantastic!)

I’ve also realised how very much I’m looking forward to going home for a bit next week.  And to having these essays finished.  These are the thoughts that are pushing me through at the moment.

Anyway, it’s been a wonderful weekend.  And you’re all just as responsible for that as purple sock yarn, lemon drizzle cake, Coraline, charity shopping and nearly black tights.  So thank you.

Comments»

1. L - November 23, 2009

It feels a little like cheating to run in now and shout “Hurrah for weekends and recovery and drizzle cake and nets!”
But, wummun, I’m just so glad you feel better.

2. teacherface - November 24, 2009

I used to love train journeys to and from uni – there was something about chugging through the Kent countryside on a crisp, sunny afternoon, listening to music that just can’t be beaten.
All the little things are sent to try us, as my mother would say. Just battle on bravely 🙂

3. thewariefiend - November 24, 2009

I find a great and wonderful romance in travelling by train. I honestly do. And it’s one that never fails to make me grin, just a little.


Leave a Reply

