jump to navigation

A Hint of Sticks and String November 13, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Lovely people.
trackback

It’s been a while since the old sticks and string got a post to itself so I thought I’d give you a bit of an update on what’s been happening when I’ve not been in the library and/or theatre.  (I’m not going to lie, I’ve been knitting in lectures.  Lawyerly Housemate finds this very amusing.)

Yesterday, I was horribly ill and missed my first tutorial ever (bugger), and generally spent the day sleeping, watching Criminal Justice and feeling sorry for myself.  I’m therefore taking it as a sign that Linguist Housemate is in fact a saint, that she provided me with lemon tea, sympathy, and the best piece of post, possibly, that I’ve received all term.  (Close second is the little book of Winnie the Pooh quotations Mum sent me up last week with my post from home because she knew I was in the theatre, which made me smile all day, and is currently residing tucked in my Filofax to remind me not to panic when I see what I have to catch up on.)

Said post turned out to be my copy of Whimsical Little Knits 2 by Ysolda Teague.  For those who haven’t come across it before, this is a booklet (the second in a series, surprisingly) with twelve small projects in it – each of which has come out online once a week for the last few months.  And I’ve been so excited by them.  This came from there (the shawl not the sister):

damson1

…which you may remember from way back when.  Also the brown hat she’s wearing (of which I made another lovely green one for her birthday because I just loved the pattern so much):

DSC00724

(Isn’t it beautiful?  Suits Midge so well – although I didn’t get a photo before she left to go home.  Shall probably get some over Christmas.)  There are also several other patterns I fully intend to have a go at/have already earmarked for Christmas presents for various people.  I can honestly say – and this is rare for books of knitting patterns – that there is only one in there that I wouldn’t knit.  Every single design is so well thought out, beautifully executed, with such attention to detail.  So when I saw she’d signed it (-homigod-) I decided there was no point in denying it, for everyone must indulge in a little fangirling at some point in their careers.

DSC00742

In terms of the projects I’m doing at the moment, well, here is another snippet of the cardigan (which you may or may not have guessed is another Ysolda design.  You can probably find out very easily what it is, now.  But what the heck, I can only see bits of it at the moment, so can you!):

DSC00744

Garter stitch!  Lots of it!  Yay for garter stitch, I love garter stitch.  And I love the colour of the yarn!  Still undecided about the cotton, though.  It’s not got the smooshiness of wool blends.  The cardigan’s gone on hold for a bit though, because the deadline for this is coming up:

DSC00737

(I’m sorry it’s a bit wonky, I promise it’ll look far better when it’s blocked!)  This is the makings of a shawl that I’m test-knitting for this lovely lady on Ravelry.  The pattern’s called Haze, and it’s beautiful and drapey and the fact that the yarn I’m using is laceweight wool/silk mix, which is so very soft, in such a glorious dark purple, makes me unspeakably happy.  So it’s all guns blazing on this one at the moment.  It’s a complicated pattern, and involves a lot of counting, but I’ve just got this feeling that the finished object is going to be so worth it.

“But Fiona,” you may well say, “something is missing!  Surely there is something that you are always knitting, something that you don’t feel complete without having at least one of on the needles at any given moment!  Where is your comfort knitting?”  The answer to this question lies with this very blue mystery:

DSC00735

It’s also linked somewhat to the revelation that, if there’s something that irritates me even more than miles of 2×2 ribbing, then it’s 3×1 ribbing.  I can’t get into a rhythm and I’ve discovered, to my own disappointment, that I hate it beyond all rationality.  The blue’s nice, though.  I might have to get some more for myself.

Comments»

1. Lucy - November 13, 2009

Knitting in lectures? Love it, love it, love it, oh if only sewing machines were equally portable!

2. Flix - November 17, 2009

I love the idea of knitting in the lab, though I’m not sure it’s a sensible idea, what with all the chemicals floating about n all. So much time is spent waiting around, it would be nice to have something to do other than read literature. First step: learn to knit. I will, one day, I will…

I like the blue muchly.


Leave a Reply

