jump to navigation

Note on a well-rounded education November 12, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Breaking the fourth wall.
trackback

I’ve just spent the last hour on fanlore.com – I found it via a Google search, if you’re wondering – with my mouth wide open clicking link after link.  Honestly, it’s just as engrossing as Wikipedia.  Only… I feel kind of dirty now.

At one point in my life, at about the age of fourteen, I made The Decision as to which route of geekiness I was going to go down.  At the time I chose the maths route; probably this has now been amended to yarn.  But I was so close you would not believe to going down the fanfiction route.  So close that now, I’m always just that little bit fascinated in a “If I wasn’t cringeing so hard I might get to like this” kind of way.

I’m not going to lie, I thought ‘slash’ was either indicative of violence, or what you did in an alley at two in the morning on the way back from the pub.  I think I’ve been reading The Internet wrong for years.

Anyway, I just thought you’d like to know.

Comments»

1. ruethewhirl - November 12, 2009

ohgod, you discovered slash fiction. between which two otherwise incompatible fictional characters?

xxx

stitchthisdarling - November 12, 2009

I’m not going to tell you, cos you’ll laugh. Not here, anyway. But they’re totally compatible. I discovered.

2. annadegenhardt - November 12, 2009

wow….
Must admit there is a part of me yearning to go to that site…
I did write a harry potter fanfic once, and then deleted it because I felt so … um. Can’t find an adjective, except dirty, but that gives entirely the wrong impression!


Leave a Reply

