jump to navigation

Eleven o’clock November 5, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Craftiness, Theatre.
trackback

Last night was the first night of Iolanthe.  I’ve now spent three consecutive thirteen-hour days in that theatre.  It went well, I think, far better than the tech and marginally better than the dress run (which was alright, actually).  I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of actors’ pre-show nerves – does that make me a bit weird?  It’s not in a vindictive way, it’s sort of like seeing other people concentrating in the library, and sort of that it reminds me why I’m doing what I’m doing.  Essentially my job in the theatre is to make them look good, and make people take them seriously.  Actors’ pre-show nerves remind me that I might work bloody hard but that my job is supplementary and that my reward is when they take it seriously, and look good from it.  I think they looked good.  There’s tweaking to do, but I think they looked good.  (Thank you Lucy, by the way, glad you enjoyed it!)

I didn’t set an alarm last night because I was shattered and until about half past five this afternoon I don’t have a set timetable.  So I woke up at a quarter to nine, decided to have another twenty minutes and now it’s eleven o’clock.  I don’t know where it went.  My housemate says clearly I needed the extra sleep.  I did, but you know, I think I might have needed the extra working time more.  Never mind, onwards and upwards.

First picture of cardigan-related joy:

cotton jeans

This is the yarn I’m using (picture shamelessly pilfered from the internet, sorry, I couldn’t get the saturation right – credited to yarnandfiber.com) – it’s Rowan Cotton Jeans in Sailcloth and I bought it in Liberty in London when I was up with Marcus over the summer (remember this stuff, love?) in a sale (£15 for ten 50g balls of Rowan? I should say so!).  It’s now, I believe, most of the way to discontinued.  It’s a bit weird, the twist is funny and, um, I know a lot of people who’ve seen me knit it are a bit dubious about the colour.  But I assure you when it’s knitted up it looks FAB, and it works with blue jeans like nobody’s business.  I’m usually not so much a fan of the cotton, I’m a wool blend girl myself, but you know, it’s definitely growing on me.  And I’m using up the stash as well, so It’s All Good, really.

Speaking of the stash, I direct any lurking knitters to http://www.laughingyaffle.com – it’s full of inexpensive luxury handdyed sock yarn.  Yes it exists.  I… haven’t just bought two colourways.  Nor have I got my eye on about a dozen more.  That would just be shallow.

I think I just love colour, you know.

Comments»

1. Flix - November 5, 2009

I love colour and I love wool and I spent five minutes in [dept store] just feeling and looking at the different types. By the way, I still don’t know how to knit yet, so I’m just plain weird.

2. Lucy - November 6, 2009

That colour’ll suit you 🙂


Leave a Reply

