jump to navigation

Decision making October 22, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Bwargh, Knitting, Sheer bloody-mindedness, Small things.
trackback

Yesterday morning, I woke up to discover that a decision I’d made the night before hadn’t been a dream after all, and that I had in fact, moments before going to sleep, rotated my duvet 180 degrees and gone to sleep with my head at the other end of the bed and my feet between my pillows.

I can’t honestly tell you why I did this, or why I wasn’t particularly surprised to discover I’d done it, but it sort of still makes sense in my head except for when I try and explain it.  I also feel a little bit unaccountably proud to have done it.  Anyway, then I got up and did an hour and a half’s reading for the Seminar To End All Seminars, which is occurring on a weekly basis for the next two terms and hasn’t killed me yet, but might do any time soon.

Another decision I’ve made recently, that’s really upset me, is to do with this:

DSC00731

This is the beautiful green sock from a few posts ago.  It’s a stunner.  The colour in real life is gorgeous.  The pattern is incredible, it just jumps out at you and I keep getting a strong urge just to follow the lines with my fingertip.  Or should I say the pattern was incredible – I did another few inches and then tried it on, and it all went horribly wrong.  I should know this by now.  I should know that however much I knit swatches beforehand, and sit down with a calculator and do it all properly, no matter how spot on my number of stitches per inch seems to be, it’s all a lie and if I don’t use the size of sock needles that I usually use (2.75mm) then nothing good can come of it.  This little work of art was knitted on 2.5mm needles and the gauge was exactly what was recommended in the pattern.  I don’t have that wide feet.  But you can guess what happened – it was too small, I couldn’t get it over my heel.  I was so upset – it’s taken me a good six or seven solid hours of knitting time, that, and ripping it back was heartbreaking.  (I think I put a bit too much of myself into my socks.)

So after much perusal of Ravelry I found another pattern to have a go at, one that’s a bit simpler that I can knit in Iolanthe rehearsals (which have started! Cheers!) without looking at it or swearing every few stitches, and I decided to do the next size up, just because the needles were a bit smaller and I knew it’d all go wrong otherwise – and I spent an hour or so knitting the toe and it was enormous.  Huge.  Bleeding massive.

I am almost getting disheartened enough to slink back to my 2.75mm needles and apologise wholeheartedly for cheating on them.  But it’s just one of those occasions – knitting occasionally resembles pissing in the wind and if I don’t have patience with yarn I know I won’t have patience anywhere.  If the next thing I write is littered with green fluff and bits of needle you’ll know I’ve cracked.

Comments»

1. Flix - October 22, 2009

Good luck! I look forward to seeing the finished product, as I’ve no doubt it will soon manifest itself in all its appropriately sized glory

2. Callan - October 25, 2009

I do that sometimes, just for a change. It’s refreshing, somehow, and slightly odd.


Leave a Reply

