jump to navigation

Stories October 9, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Lovely people.
trackback

I’ve just come across the most amazing website, the Family Trunk Project.  (Okay, so it’s more knitting.  But it’s also brilliant.)  Why so impressed?  Apart from some really beautiful designs, of course.  This is a woman who is designing a pattern for every member of her family tree, alongside her discovering more about them.  What Do You Think You Are Wearing, if you like.  And you can buy the patterns – for in the region of about $5 each, which is about standard – or there’s another option.  The other option is that you send her two, or three, or four pages of story.  Not just any story, but the story of a member of your family, part of your history, something that happened.  Memories, personalities, legends, something from your family.  And in exchange for telling her about these, she will give you a pattern, free.

Knitting patterns in exchange for stories.  Can you possibly be aware of how happy this makes me?!  Of course you can; I’m transparent like that.

It almost makes up for being up at 7.30 this morning in the freezing cold.  Luckily at this precise moment I have a very delicious, incredibly warm black and white woolen blanket wrapped around me, that just so happens to turn into an optical illusion when you lie it flat…  There are few things so satisfying as actually using things you’ve made yourself.  Mmmkay.

Comments»

1. gflawrence - October 10, 2009

I absolutely adore that. To me it harks back to the olden days where storytelling was a profession, a proper respectable job like, of travelling and exploration and the human collective imagination. It’s beautiful that in the world we live in this sort of thing still exists and it’s real lives and real people connecting across the big not-space of the internets.

One day, I’d like to be like her, I really really would. I might send her a story; just say, I can’t knit, but if you’re interested I hope this makes you smile, or think, or something.

Oh, I have fuzzy in my belly.


Leave a Reply

