jump to navigation

Good news for chocolate lovers and other clippings August 27, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Big things, Knitting.
trackback

I was having this discussion with his nibs the other night – different attitudes to chocolate. Sometimes you want two exquisite squares of 70% cocoa Equadorian Fairtrade… and sometimes you just want a whole bar of Dairy Milk. And you can feel like a terrible person for eating the whole lot in one go, and not buying Fairtrade… I found out this earlier – Cadbury’s Dairy Milk is going fairtrade.  And the hot chocolate.  Oh yes.  It’s going to be Caffeine Central in Chez Fi this year, I assure you.

Someone pointed me in this direction earlier (yes I know I can’t leave it alone) and it really hit a spot with me – a woman explaining how she got into knitting and why she does it.  People occasionally say to me when they say me knitting, “Or, you could just go out and buy a pair of socks?”  I could.  I could go and watch a play, buy a ready meal, or read a book about travelling.

It’s cold, tonight, and I noticed this evening that it was dark at nine o’clock and that means autumn is starting to shuffle its feet and cough pointedly.  For some reason, this made me really very sad.  It’s been an idyllic summer.  I have not had an autumn since I was thirteen where I have not felt disorientated and like some part of me is scrunched up into a little ball.  I’m not really sure what I’m waiting for any more.  I’m not preparing for my A-levels, because they’re some distant speck in my memory now, confined to CVs and the times when I try and convince myself to work as hard as I did for Economics.  I’m not preparing for university, because I’m here, this is it, this has been it and continues to be it.  And I’m not preparing myself for things after university, even though I should be, because this time last year I thought I knew what came next and now I have no idea whatsoever.

About that Dairy Milk.

Comments»

1. ruethewhirl - August 27, 2009

epic win. now all they have to do is increase the actual cocoa content and make it taste a bit less like tile grout.

for the record, though, i don’t actually like dark chocolate that much. it is, as in all things, about the middle ground – if anyone reading this wants to buy me the 50% cocoa milk chocolate bars from Hotel Chocolat, they’ll be gratefully recieved.

2. Flix - August 28, 2009

I reaaally want to learn to knit, more so every time I read your blog. Actually, I don’t think I want to learn to knit, I just want to be able to knit already. I might go about trying to teach myself, but I just don’t know where to start, and I feel like I don’t have the time, although I’m sure, I could probably find it if I desperately want to…

I don’t like chocolate, at all.

3. Lucy - August 30, 2009

I wish I didn’t like chocolate. Alas, I do, rather too much. But as fair as Dairy Milk goes it has to be the smell, not the taste, which I crave from time to time.

Also, likewise Flix on the wanting to learn to knit! A friend did start to teach me in the weeks after exams, but the problem is that I relied on him to correct it for me when it went wrong, and I’m too much of a perfectionist to figure it out for myself the long and hard way.

4. Lucy - August 30, 2009

*as far. Oh dear.

5. Aimee - February 6, 2011

<>

Oh, what a great way to put it! I’m going to tuck this zinger away for future use.

I’ve been wending my way through your archive, Kindred Spirit! A blog like this is a rare treat. Merci!


Leave a Reply

