jump to navigation

Three unrelated things August 18, 2009

Posted by Fiona in Craftiness, Knitting, Sheer bloody-mindedness.
trackback

Indiana Jones Syndrome: Condition.  To insist, when faced with something one believes is inaccurate, fantastic beyond belief or just plain wrong, upon sharing the details of why this is the case with everyone within earshot.  The classic case is triggered by placing the work of George Lucas in a room with someone with a grasp of basic Newtonian concepts who would rather be outside.

Because you’ve always wondered. Some people have such job satisfaction.

I am knitting this at the moment.  It is beautiful.  But it is driving me slowly but surely to distraction.  I cannot for the life of me get the stitch count right!  It is disarmingly simple.  I have not even finished the garter stitch centre of it yet.  This is the easiest bit.  It involves four increases at points I cannot fail to get right, because it would be vividly obvious, and the rest of it looks absolutely fine too.  But still, I end up with the wrong number of stitches every few rows and I cannot understand it.  All I know is that I am sick of getting it wrong and unpicking it and doing it again, and also that it is not, under any circumstances, going to beat me.  Oh no.  This shawl and I are doing battle, ladies and gentleman, and on no account is it going to win.  I will not be beaten by garter stitch.

DSC00674

Comments»

1. Socks Are Where The Heart Is « de minimis - September 2, 2009

[…] Are Where The Heart Is Remember the shawl I couldn’t get my head round?  I had to rip it back and restart it a good six times, in the end, and then ran out of yarn two […]


Leave a Reply

