jump to navigation

Dreich October 14, 2011

Posted by Fiona in Big things, Breaking the fourth wall, Edinburgh, University.
trackback

Wow.

Well, I thought it was about time I got this up and going again.

A lot has changed since the end of July, and I’ve not been on the internet for a lot of it.  I mentioned before that I was heading off to do a Masters in Edinburgh – well, I’m here now, and I’m completely snowed under a lot of the time.  I’ve been mostly absent from Ravelry for the last few months as well – which is another thing I’m going to have to rectify in the next few weeks.  Frankly, I’ve not really been on the internet so much.  But there’s been a lot going on and I think I’ve been able to cope with it, and adjust to it, a lot better for just keeping out of the way for a while.  I hope you haven’t minded.

Anyway, I’m back now.  I miss blogging and I’ve missed the blogging community as well – I’m sure a lot of changes have happened where you are, too!  So over the next few weeks I’m going to instate a rule of making sure to post at least once a week.  I want to get back into this, and I miss the dialogue of it too.  There’ll probably be a fairly high proportion of knitting posts for a while, partly because I have some absolutely smashing FOs and WIPs to show you, and partly because unless you’ve developed a sudden interest in the law of the sea, you really don’t want to know the gory details of my degree right now.

Also, my god, but Edinburgh is beautiful.  I’m going to have to show you a few bits, you’ll absolutely adore the place.  It’s stunning.

Comments»

1. Aimee - October 15, 2011

Welcome back!

Fiona - October 15, 2011

Thank you! I can’t wait to put some pictures up of Edinburgh, I’m so excited to come back and share some bits.

2. Roobeedoo - October 15, 2011

That’s a whole lot of good reasons not to be on the internet! Sounds like you’re having a great experience!

Fiona - October 15, 2011

Oh, it’s really exciting, I’m having a whale of a time. But I keep noticing the things I’ve missed – self-stitched September, second year running! Socktoberfest! I’m kicking myself a bit. But it has been fun :)

3. Running with Stethoscopes - October 15, 2011

Actually, the law of the sea does sound quite interesting! But maybe I’m an anomaly, who knows…or maybe I don’t know enough about it to not be interested, if that makes sense.

Fiona - October 15, 2011

Some of it’s great! Sadly the bits I’m doing are less pirates and more boundary delineation and mining disputes. Very technical, not that interesting. On the other hand, did you know that before the 20th century, basically, the only individuals recognised and dealt with in their own right under international law were pirates? Everything else was states. Of course it’s all international crimes and banking and human rights these days, but pre-20th century, it was just states and pirates. Fascinating.

Running with Stethoscopes - October 19, 2011

Plenty of problems with boundary delineation and mining disputes out East. China does not play well with others, it would appear.

I imagine that pre-20th century it was a simpler punishment for pirates as well. They’ve still not quite got it sorted as to who tries them atm, if I am not mistaken?

Fiona - October 19, 2011

Piracy is a universal crime, as far as I know it’s the only universal crime, but it means that anyone can try them. Pre-20th century it was probably simpler on the basis that the burden of proof was a bit different, and there weren’t as many human rights rules to abide by, and the culprits were comparatively maybe less of a burden on the host’s prison system afterwards.

And oh god, the Chinese. Almost as fun as the Americans. Good grief. At least the Chinese sign international agreements occasionally.

(I feel dreadfully slow for not having picked up on your blog before. I’m going to insist that it’s just because I’ve been offline. Nice to see you, though!)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

